



Annual General Meeting (AGM) Minutes

Tuesday 11 October 2022 16:00-17:00 Via Zoom – recording available <u>here</u> Chair: Professor Will Harvey

Trustee attendees: Will Harvey (Chair, Independent trustee), Alex Kittow (Ex Officio trustee and CEO), Crystal Carter (Independent trustee), Tom Glanville (Independent trustee), Marie Chadwick (Independent trustee), Lynn Morris (Independent trustee), Andrew Prince (Community trustee), Sue Simmons (Community trustee), Chloe Reynolds (Staff trustee),

Community member attendees: Friends of Combe Martin Library, Friends of Paignton Library, Friends of Seaton Library, Friends of Teignmouth Library

Staff member attendees: A register of attendance is available from the Executive Officer

Guest attendees: Steph Slater (PKF Francis Clark), Councillor Roger Croad (Devon County Council), Jason Allen (Devon County Council), Matthew Fairclough-Kay (Torbay Council), Joe While (Torbay Council), Bruce Leeke (Suffolk Libraries), Krystal Vittles (Suffolk Libraries)

Apologies: George Lossius (Independent trustee), Morgen Witzel (Independent trustee), Zoe Woodbridge (Staff trustee, voted by proxy), Martin Hobbs (PKF Francis Clark), Friends of Colyton Library, Friends of Kingskerswell Library, Friends of Torrington Library, Kate Greaves (staff), Sarah Cotton (staff), Tim Scurr (staff), Liz McGlynn (staff)

1. Welcome, introductions and apologies for absence

Will Harvey, Chair, welcomed staff, Friends Groups, trustees and guests to the Annual General Meeting. The Chair confirmed the meeting was quorate with one representative from each membership group present and more than 10 members present at the meeting. A total of 44 were in attendance. Apologies were noted.

2. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting on 12 October 2021 (papers provided)

The minutes of the 2021 AGM were approved by each membership category.

3. To note one change to the membership of the Board, with one trustee to newly appoint. To note two trustees are coming to the end of their term of office, and requested to be reappointed.

Will Harvey, Chair, noted that Independent trustee George Lossius was at the end of his first term of office and wished to stand for a second term of three years. The re-appointment was **approved** by all three membership categories.

Will Harvey, Chair, noted that Independent trustee Morgen Witzel was at the end of his second term of office and wished to stand for a third term of three years. The re-appointment was **approved** by all three membership categories.

Will Harvey, Chair, noted that there was one round of recruitment for one Independent trustee vacancy during 2022, due to one trustee resigning.



It was noted that Lynn Morris applied for the Independent trustee vacancy, and the appointment requires approval. The re-appointment was **approved** by all three membership categories.

The Chair welcomed Lynn to the Board and thanked all trustees for their commitment over the past 12 months.

4. To receive the Annual Accounts, and to reappoint PKF Francis Clark as auditors (paper provided)

Jo Hodgson, Chief Finance Officer, presented the financial highlights of the year to the members. The Chair recommended the reappointment of the auditors, PFK Francis Clark. The reappointment was **approved** by all three membership categories.

5. To note the Annual Report (paper provided)

Alex Kittow, CEO and ex officio trustee, presented the Annual Report to members, noting highlights from the year. It was noted that copies have been sent to all libraries and are available in print form on request.

6. Reflections on the year, with Alex Kittow CEO

Alex Kittow provided his reflections on the year, highlighting the organisation's recovery from COVID-19, the change in user habits to more digital use, the success of the Summer Reading Challenge and the Secret Book Quest, and the organisation's plan for the future and financial uncertainty due to inflationary pressures and high pressure on local authority finances.

7. Guest Speakers: Bruce Leeke and Krystal Vittles from Suffolk Libraries

Alex Kittow thanked Bruce Leeke and Krystal Vittles, CEO and Deputy CEO of Suffolk Libraries, for joining the AGM. Bruce Leeke and Krystal Vittles shared their passion for libraries and spoke about the impacts of libraries and the benefits of being an independent charity. A full transcript of is available.

8. Q&A

The Chair invited questions from members. No questions were asked.

9. Thank you and final comments

The Chair thanked all members and guests for their support. The Chair noted that there are challenges ahead, but that Libraries Unlimited are committed to being a thriving organisation, to innovation, pivoting into new areas of opportunity and exploring new models of working. He said that through working together, there could be a bright future ahead. He noted that paperwork from the meeting will be circulated in due course.